After 3 successful terms in the Colorado House of Representatives for Aurora’s District 42, Senator Rhonda Fields was elected to the State Senate in 2016, becoming the first African-American woman to serve Aurora’s concurrent Senate District 29.

Rhonda has ushered in new laws that help grow our state economy, protect our environment, veterans, women’s rights, and basic human rights of the undeserved or homeless. As an advocate for crime victims, she has continuously fought for justice and fairness in our state, and won.

2gun rally.jpg

Rhonda has established a reputation as unafraid to tackle tough issues on behalf of her constituents, for a safer and more just Colorado.

Rhonda has aggressively represented the needs of the most vulnerable people in her district and throughout the State. She is a champion of quality public education, and helped secure nearly $500 million in funding for K-12 programs – helping to reduce school truancy, and recruitment of teachers. She continues to work to expand early childhood education and workforce programs to prepare young people for a bright and successful future.

Rhonda is a longtime resident of Aurora, Colorado, where she raised her two children, Maisha and Javad. Both children went to local public schools and graduated from Colorado State University. Her daughter Maisha, and her son-in-law live in Centennial where they are raising her grandchildren.



In 2014 and 2011, 5280 Magazine ranked Rep. Fields 37th on its list of the 50 “most powerful” people in the Denver Metro area, saying she has “gained the type of respect that politicians dream about.”



  • Martin Luther King Jr. Humanitarian Award

  • Colorado Black Chamber of Commerce President’s Courage Award


  • Colorado Democratic Party’s
    “Rising Star Award”

  • Black Women for Political Action Award

  • Wilma Webb Co-Legislator of the Year

  • Robert Wood Johnson Foundation’s Leadership for Healthy Communities Award


  • Aurora Women’s Hall of Fame

  • TREA Enlisted Association
    Community Service

  • Arapahoe Democrats’ Special Chair Recognition

  • 43rd Gospel Music Academy’s Leadership Award

  • MRBES WiMA Honoree
    Political Leader of the Year


  • The Swanee Hunt Leadership Award


  • Civic Champion Award